What Inspires You?

I seem to have lost my crafting inspiration. I look into my beautiful new craft closet, all nicely organized with yarn on display, and feel nothing. Nada. No desire, no urge, no inspiration. I look at my etsy shop, closing in on the number of items I want to carry, and feel nothing. Nada. No desire, no urge, no inspiration. Just nothing. Same with my beloved to do lists, blog, facebook, twitter… the list goes on.

Well, maybe nothing doesn’t quite describe the feeling since it is not an empty pit feeling. It is more of a lack of inspiration mixed with more than a touch of guilt. Guilt that I should be crafting. Guilt that this is my dream and my goal. Guilt that I have incredible opportunities to grow my business right now and yet I am doing nothing. Not a thing.

I’ve tried taking a break, in hopes that inspiration would return after some healthy distance. I’ve tried forcing myself in hopes that I would enjoy it and the desire would come back. I’ve tried looking at old projects in hopes of having old feelings return. And yet nothing. Not a thing.

I’m at an in-pass here and need to do something to move forward again. Any suggestions? What do you do to get your inspiration back?

One response to “What Inspires You?

  1. As strange as it may sound, I do some baking! Cupcakes or cookies! But I know that feeling… The more you dwell on it the more it stays. The thing is not to feel guilt. What I like about crafting and having a shop is that there are a multitude of things to do apart from the crafting bit. So whenever I’m short of inspiration I take it as a sign (from the universe or whatever…) that other areas need focus. Areas like maybe twitter, facebook, more blogging about interesting posts… or maybe none of these but just relax and clear the mind.
    Anyway, I found this to help and after a while I miss the crafting and go back to it.
    Sometimes I just create an opportunity to make something for myself, like in my case, if I’ve bought a new dress, I’d make a new jewellery piece to go with it. This usually brings back the inspiration and I start creating a whole bunch of other things…
    Anyway, hope this helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

