Counter-intuitive

Confession: I started this blog simply for the back-links to my shop.

I kept reading all over the place how important it was to have a blog in order to drive traffic to your shop. So I decided I would give it a try, and just simply post my new listings. I had no intention of ever actually writing anything. I certainly had no intention of using the blog to help promote others’ shops.

Confession: I hate using this blog for back-links.

I almost feel sick every time I put a new listing on here. I just want to skip it completely. And yet that nagging voice in my head wins out most of the time. You know, that voice that tells you this is the only way to succeed.  So because I don’t want to be a failure, I go ahead and press the publish button.

Confession: I love promoting other people’s shops and writing encouraging posts.

The first time I published a Treasure of the Week segment, it was on a complete whim. Someone had published on a etsy team discussion that their sales were low. I took a look at their shop and was amazed by the quality of the work and photographs. The idea came to me that I could do something to help others find this amazing shop. So I found two more, and put up a bog post. And it was like I found what I was made to do. Now I have to control myself from not scheduling posts too far in advance because I just love doing them!

Confession: I don’t live the rest of my life according to the world’s rules for success.

The day after receiving my bachelor’s degree, I moved 20 hours away all my family and friends to live in an RV older than me that did not have a water hook-up so I could do a two year internship. Not exactly what I thought I would be doing after receiving a 36K a year college education. Two years ago I moved to Tulsa to go to Bible school for a certificate program, not a masters. I work a third shift job that I absolutely love, but is not helpful in paying off student loans!

I live an abnormal life because I don’t define success as other people do.  I succeed in life when I live my life as God wants. Many times the next step almost seems counter-intuitive. And yet it just seems right.

I realized today that if I define success differently, then I should stop trying to achieve it as others do. So from now on this blog is going to be devoted to encouraging and promoting other shops. I would like to start doing a weekly interview piece with shop owners, as well as possibly expanding the Hidden Treasures segment. Good changes are coming!

What would you like to see? What would be helpful and encouraging to you? After all, that is what really matters!

2 responses to “Counter-intuitive

  1. I love your blog and your style!! I think your Treasure of the Week is awesome so definitely expand that 🙂
    I always find it encouraging when others post successful Etsy tools.
    Such as: Craftopolis, Clever way to take item pictures, Certain tags to use….blah blah blah…

    Anyways, love your blog..can’t wait to see what’s comin!

    Abby

  2. Hi,
    I’m a newbie at etsy and I’m looking forward to see how things will go for you, please keep on sharing your experience with us and I think that’s it’s great to listen to what this nagging voice tells!
    pinar.

Leave a Reply

